If at First You Don´t Succeed, Lounge About for a Week Then Try Try Again.

Lunes Martes Miércoles Jueves Viernes Sábado Domingo
04 Julio
ObservadoMáxima 28°C
Mínima 24°CPrecip. N/D
05 Julio
ObservadoMáxima 28°C
Mínima 23°CPrecip. N/D
06 Julio
ObservadoMáxima 57°C
Mínima 23°CPrecip. N/D
07 Julio
Pronóstico

Tormentas dispersasPor la noche
Mínima 23°CProbabilidad de precip.
50%

 

08 Julio
Pronóstico

Tormentas dispersasMáxima 30°C
Mínima 23°CProbabilidad de precip.
50%

 

09 Julio
Pronóstico

Tormentas dispersasMáxima 29°C
Mínima 24°CProbabilidad de precip.
50 %

 

10 Julio
Pronóstico

Tormentas dispersasMáxima 29°C
Mínima 24°CProbabilidad de precip.
50 %

 

Lunes Martes Miércoles Jueves Viernes Sábado Domingo
11 Julio
Pronóstico

Tormentas dispersasMáxima 29°C
Mínima 24°CProbabilidad de precip.
50 %
12 Julio
Pronóstico

Tormentas dispersasMáxima 28°C
Mínima 23°CProbabilidad de precip.
60 %

 

13 Julio
Pronóstico

ChubascosMáxima 28°C
Mínima 23°CProbabilidad de precip.
60 %
14 Julio
Pronóstico

ChubascosMáxima 28°C
Mínima 23°CProbabilidad de precip.
60 %

 

15 Julio
Pronóstico

ChubascosMáxima 28°C
Mínima 23°CProbabilidad de precip.
60 %

 

16 Julio
Pronóstico

ChubascosMáxima 28°C
Mínima 23°CProbabilidad de precip.
60 %

 

17 Julio
HistóricoPromedios
Máxima N/D
Mínima N/D

The dire weather that was forecast did not materialize; in fact it has been fairly acceptable considering it is now the rainy season, or estacion de mal tiempo (season of bad weather). Today´s  forecast looks like above. Oh I see it´s all clipped off at the side but you get the idea.

When I say the weather has been acceptable I mean I could have sailed through it, not that it has been lovely. Leave a bucket out overnight and it is full by morning. Watermelons sprout from the sand wherever the fishermen have sat, the fire ants struggle to find new homes after being flooded out with nary an ant-Moses to lead them (and I don´t care: such hateful creatures), the well levels rise, the floor of my shack floods, mushrooms cover the fields, great muddy lakes of unknown depth form on the lanes and tracks which can only be crossed with one´s heart in one´s mouth, and mean insects breed in whatever slimes they prefer. The huge inundations cause the rivers to rise, spewing out thousands of trees and branches, water plants and of course garbage into the ocean, which has turned a dirty green-brown in color for miles out and lost its sparkle. All the detrius has to be avoided at sea until it washes up on the beaches, net fishing is limited because of the likelihood of entanglement. It may be grim and overcast all day but the locals say “Isn´t the weather nice?” and I have to agree because it is at least bearably rather than unbearably hot as it was last week. There is usually plenty of wind in the afternoon, punctuated by calms which end when ghastly screaming black squalls come racing along, blotting everything out, hammering the ocean smooth with raindrops despite the awful wind, then moving on leaving everything in a state of cleaned disturbance. So far none of these squalls have hit me at sea; I am sure it will happen but I can see them coming from a long way off which gives me plenty of time to drop the sail and tie it down before I am struck, so I am not too worried.

My dream was to sail warmly under sunny skies but that may have to be modified a bit. I expect to be wet all day and much of the night too because the little shelter I built, a kind of tent which I can set up on the platform, really was the product of many compromises and rather sucks. I am sure that at least I shall get some amusing video of my sufferings.

I am annoyed that I listened to the foul weather warnings, did not set sail on Sunday and have lost yet another five days, but I haven´t exactly been lounging around. I took advantage of the extra time to rebuild the hatches all three of which leaked and lacked durability, and to cut more scuppers to help drain the decks after plunging through waves. These tasks are important now because I must travel with far more stuff aboard than I would like, and the boat will be low in the water so I figure any advance in its ability to go through the waves rather than over them without filling up is a good thing.

Raimundo the old fisherman has given me a series of rather dire warnings about the horrors of the sea to the south. It is frankly a bit unnerving but I steel myself and try to keep in mind that he is a famous worrier and has predicted imminent catastrophic weather every single time I have asked him for the last six months.

Now I am ready to go again; all packed up, the house clean, and the car ready to be jacked up in a friend’s garden hopefully high enough not to be flooded in the next cyclone. I find myself more upset to go than I thought I would be, but I shall attempt to leave at about 11am. tomorrow, aiming for the great lagoon at Alvarado about 30km south as an easy target for the first day and a safe anchorage for the night. So if by clicking on the link below you see my marker near Alvarado, you will know I have started.

http://share.findmespot.com/shared/faces/viewspots.jsp?glId=02OMbJyQzLrxlajbnC79YlbiTI0uDqtG3

3 thoughts on “If at First You Don´t Succeed, Lounge About for a Week Then Try Try Again.

  1. Once again good luck! An never forget that you have reserved the right to make tactical decisions in favour of not crossing the line between brave determined adventurer and suicidal nutter. I think you may have shortened that to chicken out but I’m not sure phrasing it in such a way will encourage you to stay on the right side of the line.
    Passarlo bien!
    Mike

  2. RE/”Raimundo the old fisherman has given me a series of rather dire warnings about the horrors of the sea to the south. It is frankly a bit unnerving but I steel myself and try to keep in mind that he is a famous worrier and has predicted imminent catastrophic weather every single time I have asked him for the last six months.”

    Bear in mind that Raimundo is:

    a) Old

    b) Still alive

    “There are old sailors and there are bold sailors…. but very few old bold sailors.”

Leave a Reply

