Progress.

 

The frame is mostly done.

And the roof on the north side is raftered and sheathed. There is still some snow about but I can drive to the house, almost. Mud is a problem.

Lots of lovely timber. All the beams cut with my chainsaw.

 

A silly joint. Dad gave me some enormous chisels so this kind of thing is not so hard as I thought it would be.

This joint is the result of some ghastly compromises and it does not please me. I have an idea to make it more acceptable though.

Rafters are made from two planks screwed edge to edge, 16 inches deep for super insulation and ventilation. Everything so far is made from the timber from the old structure, some old stuff I had lying about and the beams I cut myself from the trees on the land. The remains of the old roof are seen below, at this point I was still using it to get around.

2 thoughts on “Progress.

  1. Yay – looks satisfyingly overproof – belt, braces – and a few rolls of gaffa to make really sure. Nice bit of chainsawing there matey – I guess you made up some kind of saw-bench jig – working well, beautiful timbers.. phenomenal. Most of the sillier joints I have known didn’t look as strong as that one.. 😉 I reckon you’re right tho’ the old place was a trifle small, so glad you saw your way to ‘raising the bar’ & expanding it slightly! Much impressed – I’d send by return photos of my new velux window & lovely lead flashing – but it’s not exactly impressive up against your superlodge. Glad you’ve got a hand out there – looks like enough work for 8-10 normal people – glad to know I’d never regard you as ‘normal’ so that’s OK I suppose. Look after yourself – keep safe bounding around that roof line. Hope you’re having fun too.. you deserve it.. All the best, P

  2. hi, hope you don’t mind me and my baby coming to live with you. : )
    looks great chris, well done, x ali
    you think i’m kidding…

Leave a Reply

